What’s in a name?

Well, you may have noticed that I’ve changed my name on here to my Korean name: Shim Sung Sook, written in Hangul as 심성숙.

This is me trying out my Korean name. And it’s weird.

It’s ironic to me that this is the name I was born with, yet I never knew it until I was 31 years old. And when I finally did learn it, I had to read and re-read it multiple times, just to make sure that I had it right and that I was spelling it correctly. Somewhere there is a family named , and I wonder how they would feel if they knew that I was trying our name on for size, and that it’s completely foreign to me even though that is who I am.

What do you think?

