The Riley’s In Uganda

No “real” post here, but check out my guest post on the Riley’s in Uganda blog. Mark and Keren Riley are doing some wonderful work, finding families for Ugandan orphans — sometimes reuniting them with their birth families — and raising awareness about issues in international adoption. I love what they’re doing and wish them continued success!


Update 1/06/2015: “Riley’s in Uganda” is now a non-profit organization called Reunite Uganda, with branches in both Uganda and the U.S. I had the privilege of serving on the U.S. Board of Directors from fall 2013 to Dec. 2014.

2 thoughts on “The Riley’s In Uganda

  1. Thank you for sharing your story. I feel so sad for your adoptive family that they cannot support you. They are missing out. I believe every adoptee has a right to be know and be loved by both their families. We have open international adoptions and know for a fact it has helped my children to have their adoptions, their families, their first culture, language be a consistent part of their lives. I am sorry you were denied that. I hope you find your Korean family.

  2. As an adoptive mama to a Ugandan girl (found your blog through your powerful guest post on the Rileys blog) I want to thank you for taking the time to share your heart. I read through your whole blog last night and it brought many tears. The voice of adult adoptees is such an important piece of the puzzle, and one that I appreciate tremendously as an adoptive mom…I appreciate even more knowing that the entitlement and ugliness of APs has often squashed or dismissed this voice.

What do you think?

